AmpliFi HD Firmware v3.4.1

• Today I gave up 😞 I’d held of upgrading to 3.4.1 due to the reports here, and then thought surely if there was this degree of problems in the wider community they’d have pulled the plug on the version. Oh boy was I wrong. Yesterday morning I upgraded, yesterday evening the network went to hell with access points dropping out, losing IPv4 routing but keeping IPv6, streaming from the internal network went to pot, and internet was thoroughly hit and miss.

This morning I pulled out of the cupboard an old D-Link and Netgear router, put them both in access point mode, and set them up in place of the AMPLIFI kit. Network sanity restored.

As for pulling logs, fat chance. When the network is that screwed up how the heck are you meant to get logs out of an access point when you couldn’t even see it on the network even though traffic was going through it?

• I have been using AmpliFi HD with 2 Mesh points since December 2017 in Bridge Mode (with 30+ devices) connected to a Frontier FiOS router and never had an issue until updating to 3.1 when the HD began reporting "no internet connection" on a daily basis - but wireless devices attached to the HD continued to work and gradually deteriorated in throughput until the HD was power cycled and rebooted. Support told me I had a hardware problem and suggested I RMA the unit which was two years old at the time; but I did not agree with their conclusion. After performing a little debugging, it became apparent to me that beginning with 3.1 the HD (and Mesh points) had issues when renegotiating DHCP leases in bridge mode. I was able to resolve this problem by setting the Frontier router DHCP Server to use Static Leases instead of Dynamic Leases and my problems with 3.1 disappeared and all subsequent releases including v3.4.1 work properly with no device dropouts or degradation in performance.