Problem switching from AT&T to Cox

• I've been using my Amplifi HD with AT&T Uverse service for a few years and everything worked smooth as silk from day one. However, I decided to switch over to Cox to get Gigablast. I really wish there was reasonably priced fiber here in South Orange County. Now, I'm having difficulty getting my router to sync up with the Cox modem.

The first thing I did once I connected the Cox modem to the wall jack, was to test internet and modem connectivity directly to a single laptop. Everything went well without making any setting changes to the laptop. I can connect to the modem config page and out to the internet.

My AT&T setup was configured on my Aplifi HD router using DHCP with the Gateway address of the AT&T router/modem. I kept the DHCP setting and just moved my WAN cable from the AT&T router to the Cox modem, but the Amplifi router doesn't auto detect the new modem and it's relevant settings. It displays a No Internet Connection message on the display. Strangely, even though the only thing I have changed is the Internet Gateway, it seems to have affected the WiFi settings because I am then unable to connect to the router via the AmpliFi app on my Android phone that is connected locally to the same WiFi network. Eventually, I was able to connect to the AmpliFi via the web config page. I tried switching to Bridge mode, but that didn't seem to help either.

I chatted with Cox support and their response was simply, plug it in to your router and it should work. The level 1 tech (I assume) could not provide any remotely technical info. Perhaps if I were starting with a factory fresh router, it would be that simple, but it's not that way for me now.