New guy here... Single router channel configuration

• I’m new to AmpliFi having just gotten an Alien a few days ago. So far I like but I’m not in love with it. I’m hoping the community can clarify a few things and maybe change that sentiment.

I have 1 gig (940/40) but when I run a speed test from the router I’m only getting 500-600mbps. But then I’ll run a Speedtest on my iPhone 11 Pro and it’ll pull down 700+. I get a similar result on my iMac, too.

But why don’t I get those results when I run a speed test on the router?

I didn’t go with the mesh option, single router only, hoping I could potentially save money if the connection could reach the second floor of my house from the basement. It can! But with a handful of iPhones, iPads, laptops, an iMac, three AppleTVs, a PlayStation, Sonos speakers, and Hue lights, I’m wondering if I’d benefit from a mesh system, but mostly, is there a recommended channel configuration for the single router.

Do I keep the two WiFi 6 channels for iDevices and the WiFi 5 channel for the PlayStation, Sonos speakers and Hue lights?

• @marcdecarli Welcome to the community, the speed test in our app can give inaccurate results at times. We are working to improve this currently.

• Got it. I bought the Orbi AX6000 to test its performance vs. the Alien, and it seems there's no comparison. I'm pulling down significantly better speeds and consistently with the AX6000 compared to the Alien.

I love the performance of the Orbi, but I love the Alien's hardware and iOS app. I love that the Orbi has a WiFi 6 backhaul, but I can designate channels with the Alien.

I really want to love the Alien but the speed just isn't there.

Any suggestions?