Switch Suggestions?

• Hello,
    I purchased a new house and the builder is adding 3 Ethernet ports throughout the home. 2 upstairs and 1 on the main floor. All of the wires will run to my basement and I’m looking to purchase a switch. I’m just wondering what type of switch I should be looking at? I didn’t realize there were so many types of switches until I started googling. I’m a complete noob when it comes to home networking. I’ll be honest, I’m actually pretty confused. Haha. Currently I’m thinking of having my modem and a switch in the basement. My Alien router in the living room connected to the Ethernet port and possibly purchasing another Alien for upstairs, if needed. Is that a good setup? Sorry if this isn’t the right place for this! Thanks!

• @Eric-Costa Hi Eric, you actually can just use the Alien in place of your switch, it has 4 LAN ports on the back that can be used for those ethernet cables going to other parts of the home. The second Alien could then be plugged in via ethernet for a wired backhaul.

• @Eric-Costa
    What @UI-AmpliFi said above is your easiest option/simplest option for sure!

If you DO end up needing a network switch.. Don't fret! Any gigabit ethernet switch will fill your needs. Any computer store, Walmart, Best Buy, all carry un-managed ethernet switches. Prices will vary depending on how many ports you need or want. But generally, prices can range anywhere from $30-$150 or so for a decent unit.
    In this wiring scenario, your network should look like this:

ISP Internet Feed --> WAN (Internet) port on Alien --> One of the gigabit LAN ports on the alien to your network switch --> all of your wired devices to your network switch.

Hope this helps!

• @Anthony_014