Can I use my new Amplifi HD to extend my current Apple AirPort Extreme Network?

• OK, I'm not an expert user and I fear I may have bought the wrong thing - the Amplifi HD. My current network is run by an Apple Airport Extreme close to the router and it has an even older Airport at the other end of the house attached to it via ethernet cable. All worked fine for many years but, for some reason, the speed in my office has fallen through the floor (0.5mbs). Our house is more than 450 years old with thick stone walls, plaster and lath and brick that wifi does not penetrate . . . hence the ethernet cable to the other end of the house. If I run a long ethernet cable from my office back to the AirPort Extreme (for testing purposes), I get good speeds, so the problem is clearly in the wifi. I can also run the test cable from my office to the older Airport at the other end of the house and that works fine too.
    I just bought the Amplifi HD and two Mesh 'extenders' thinking that I could add these to the network to extend the wifi into the places it won't reach (they haven't arrived yet) - the question is, will that work?
    I don't want to junk the AirPort Extreme because that acts as back up and, more crucially, I'd have to tell everyone and everything (all those devices these days) about the new network and its password and I am not 100% confident that I could even set up a new network! I was naively hoping to just unplug the older Airport at the end of the house and plug in the new Amplifi HD in it's stead. And, hopefully, configure it easily to pick up the existing network and extend it via mesh. Please tell me this will work and is easy!!

• @DickPowell said in Can I use my new Amplifi HD to extend my current Apple AirPort Extreme Network?:

My current network is run by an Apple Airport Extreme close to the router and it has an even older Airport at the other end of the house attached to it via ethernet cable. All worked fine for many years