Upgrade from Amplifi HD to Alien - Need for extra mesh points

• Hi. I have been using Amplifi HD first gen for a couple of years now. I have the router and 4 mesh points as well as one Amplifi AP. I have a 4,800 2ft house with 2 floors. There are a lot of concrete walls. So signal has always been an issue. And I have Ethernet connections in various spots. So far it have been very happy with the system. But I need to upgrade. It is hard and expensive to replace mesh points and want to upgrade to wifi 6. So I am considering upgrading to Alien 6.

I just read that Alien won’t integrate naturally with my existing mesh points. So I am worried the Alien router + the extender won’t be enough coverage for the whole home.

Is Alien still a good option for my needs? If I need extenders, do I have to buy more Alien units?

Thanks in advance for any advise.

• HI;

No, it is not compatible with your existing mesh points.

You can buy a single unit, then add additional units (vs) the kit. which is what I recommend. You can do mesh via wireless, or Ethernet Backbone (preferred)

You would have to buy additional Aliens to add to mesh. There is nothing else compatible.

• @unseenone Hi. Thanks a lot for the response. Understood. I will have to go for the 2 pack then. Thanks again

• @SAYAGUES Bear in mind the two pack, is not two identical units, one is a bare bones unit, without extra ethernet ports, and does not have a screen. I personally prefer the one with the screen. It will cost a little more, but overall, I like them better.

• Hi @SAYAGUES - if timing isn't urgent and you already have Ethernet backhaul to the locations you most likely need it, for roughly the same cost as an Alien Kit ($700) or 2 Alien Routers ($760), you could consider switching to a UniFi solution and 3 to 4 AP's

A UDM (if you are are a fan of integration) is $300 and includes a controller, 802.11ac AP and a switch (no PoE)