My Teleport Review: Mostly Good, But Some Downfalls

• I’ve been using this device exclusively on my latest business trip in various hotels (some with guest logon pages, others where you directly connect, some with Ethernet connections, others that are WiFi only). I should give some background on myself first. I’m an IT professional with 17 years of experience as a software engineer, currently working as a Solutions Architect for one of the largest FinTech firms in the country. I know my way around technology pretty well.

I use the Teleport to connect to my home network which is a Windows domain with 2 onsite domain controllers that run DNS and DHCP for my entire home network, which consists of 25 devices. I run an AD Federation Server for integration into Azure AD, and a whole host of on-prem and Cloud based services. My home connection is AT&T gigabit up/down, and I consistently get ~900mb/s in both directions from wired devices, and ~200mb/s+- from wireless devices, depending on what access point it’s using. I have one Amplifi router, and one mesh point, which more than covers my house. The Amplifi router has Hardware NAT, Bypass DNS, and 802.11v enabled (using /k causes problems). I have extensive experience with VPN’s, namely the one built into Windows Server 2016, which is what I’ve been using for years. But it’s hard to maintain, and the certs used for it are expensive. It’s also not feasible for non-Windows machines in that I have to connect each device manually, install certs. And the of course for devices like my kindle and Nintendo, it’s not even an option. It’s a pain, and I’ve been looking for a solution like the Teleport for a while now.

When I travel, I take:

• Amazon Fire TV Stick
    • Kindle Oasis (2.4ghz only)
    • Laptop (802.11ac)
    • iPad Pro
    • iPhone
    • Nintendo Switch